Old Library Museum of Delaware

The Old Library Museum of Delaware is located in New Castle, Delaware, which was the colonial capitol of the state before it was moved to Dover in 1777. New Castle was established in 1651 and still maintains much of the charming character from its earlier days. Tree lined streets, historical homes and bricked sidewalks make it easy for visitors to feel like they have walked back into history.

 

The History of the Old Library Museum of Delaware

The Old Library Museum is part of the charm of New Castle with its original design and historic significance. The Old Library Museum of Delaware was built in a hexagonal shape, which many have described as being “fanciful Victorian.” It was designed by Frank Furness, a famous architect from Philadelphia, and completed in 1892.

The New Castle Library Company had the structure built so they could store and make available their collections of law books and classic literature books. Today the Old Library Museum is used to showcase exhibits operated by the New Castle Historical Society, which is dedicated to preserving New Castle’s history.

 

Exploring the Old Library Museum of Delaware

The exterior of the building is striking with its distinctive hexagonal and weathered red bricks. It has an ornate half moon window above the double doors leading into the building. If the exterior is striking, then the interior is even more so. The center of the building soars skyward and embedded in its roof is a skylight which allows the sunlight to radiate throughout the interior. All of the original elaborate woodwork has been preserved so visitors can see and appreciate Victorian workmanship.

The New Castle Historical Society has recently had exhibits displaying different aspects of colonial life in New Castle. The exhibits have displayed intricate colonial stitchery, childhood artifacts, and the story of African Americans in New Castle.

 

Visiting the Old Library Museum of Delaware

Hours

The Old Library Museum has limited hours that it is open for public viewing. It is only open March through December 1st, and then it is only open on Saturdays and Sundays from 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Admission is free to all.

Contact Information

Old Library Museum of Delaware
40 E. Third Street
New Castle, Delaware 19720

Phone 302-322-2794
Email nchistorical@aol.com